/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Screen Resolution Anomaly

Hello Members of Webdeveloper.com
My wife and I need some help with an ongoing problem. I am not a professional web designer by trade – I am a singer/songwriter/producer. Nevertheless, I love graphic and web design and have actually designed many websites over the years – at first using Flash (back in the day), and in recent times mainly Bespoke using Dreamweaver CS6 and tables. I have designed in WordPress, but I still prefer the to use Dreamweaver in tandem with Photoshop. I realize my design skills are not completely up to date, but things move fast. I have my own style and I AM trying my best.
In recent years I’ve designed a site called www.glaucomarize.org as an online charity resource for people all over the world, suffering from Glaucoma and other eye diseases. My wife lost the sight in one eye and almost the other eye due to Glaucoma, so we wanted to find a silver lining and help others – especially as glaucoma is not well understood.
The site I’ve designed is using tables with deliberately large buttons, being as the site is about visual impairments and awareness. So I started with an 1900 size template designing on a large screen, but set the widths to 100%. The colours were also very carefully chosen. At every stage of the design, I would check with my wife how it looked to her, as this would give the best indication as to whether the site works. So she approved the final visuality of the site.
She can see it nice and clear on a big screen and all fits on to the screen. On a tablet, the site resizes perfectly and this is the view my wife uses. On a phone it also resizes and works perfectly if the mobile is flipped to ‘landscape’.