/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

Reading a .PHP file with a browser?

I’d first like to say that I’m a complete noob at anything web-related beyond basic HTML. Due to a project I’m working on I’ve been force to learn about web development, but some of the things I’ve been reading through have made me want to curl up into a fetal position and crawl back to managed desktop applications ?

The issue I’m facing now is I need to open a .PHP file inside a web browser (Chrome). I initially assumed that I could open it just like I can an HTML file and the browser would parse it for me, but apparently that isn’t the case. Through a convoluted path I ended up installing XAMPP (as I read that apache needs to be installed in order to use php files). Then I called the file in the web browser using localhost (?) and I am now stuck at a 403 Forbidden error.

Some other forums suggested changing parts of the apache/conf/extra/httpd-xampp.conf file, which I did, but to no avail.

Am I even on the right track with XAMPP? Is there a way to open a PHP file without all this mess (I always thought you could name the file with a .html extension, and the html would just use the php script)? Sorry for all the questions, but I really don’t have a good understanding of these things.

I’d really, really appreciate any and all help.

to post a comment
PHP

13 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@nathanwallApr 17.2012 — You cannot open a PHP file in a web browser. PHP is a server-side language intended to let the server process files before sending them to the browser. If you want a programming language which the browser can read, you should use JavaScript.

You are on the right track with XAMPP. If you want to open a PHP file you must have a server to process the file -- XAMPP is a good setup to use on your local computer.