/    Sign up×
Community /Pin to ProfileBookmark

How to make a dictionary website

Hi all,

I am new to this field, and I need some help.
I want to make a dictionary website in Japanese and English. I was going to make it from scratch learning php and stuff, but if there is anyother way to make it (maybe purchasing something), please let me know?

Thank you!

to post a comment
PHP

11 Comments(s)

Copy linkTweet thisAlerts:
@kurinekoauthorMar 24.2009 — I found some resource and I want to know if this is what I need.

http://www.w3schools.com/PHP/php_ref_directory.asp

Thank you!
@svidgenMar 25.2009 — I doubt that's what you need. But, you'll need to be more specific about what you're doing and which aspects of the project you need help with.
@kurinekoauthorMar 25.2009 — I want to make a dictionary like website in Japanese and English.

It is like http://www.merriam-webster.com/, but it is going to be both in japanese and english like http://www.alc.co.jp (this site is in Japanese).

I want the matched results listed, and possible words listed separately.

I do not know where to start. I am hoping to get some idea what I need to learn at least.

Sorry I cant be more specific because I have not even started building the site and I do not have enough background about web.

Right now I can build basic sites using dreamweaver, and I learned basic CSS and Flash all by myself, thats all. But I want to be able to build more advanced sites.

I am searching for more information by myself, but at the same time, I would like to have some advice from people who are already in the field.

Please advise. Thank you.
@svidgenMar 25.2009 — If you just need a practical solution, you'll want to try to hook into an existing database via an API. It's possible that google or answers.com have something you can use. However, I presume this is a learning project ... So, you should find yourself a nice PHP and MySQL tutorial.